Towns and Villages of Chemung County, New York
Home Page
Chemung County Towns
1836 Chemung County Map
1879 Chemung County Map
Chemung County Towns Formation
Thanks to Judy Newman for researching and preparing the information on this page

Town date established parent town notes
Chemung 1788 original
Elmira 10 April 1792 Chemung named Newtown until 1808
Catharine 15 May 1798 Newtown Catharine became part of Schulyer County in 1854
Erin 29 March 1822 Chemung
Big Flats 16 Apr 1822 Elmira
Southport 1822 Elmira
Catlin 16 Apr 1823 Elmira
Veteran 16 Apr 1823 Catharine
Cayuta 24 March 1824 Spencer Spencer was formed from the towns of Owego and Erin, which were formed from Chemung. Now part of Schuyler County
Dix 17 April 1835 Catlin became part of Schuyler County in 1854
Horseheads 8 Feb 1835 Elmira, Chemung first new town formed under Chemung County
Van Etten 17 Apr 1854 Cayuta The remainder of Cayuta remained in Tioga County when Chemung County was formed.
Baldwin 17 Apr 1856 Chemung
Ashland 25 April 1867 Southport

Your Family and Historical materials need to be submitted to make this site grow and develop
Home Page Copyright 2000 - 2007 by Joyce M. Tice
You are a welcome visitor since 21 November, 2000
Page relocated and counter reset 02 DEC 2007 with 14134 usage counts.